In some countries it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age. Is it a positive or negative development ?

Even though companies emphasize employees to be of certain age while recruiting them, there are some countries that issued legal restrictions against refusal of applicants in regards with their age. This action may be beneficial for the economy of the country in terms of employment, while productivity levels of the company might drop in the long run.

In this era of globalization, many people face challenges while applying for the job. It due to the fact that either they lack experience for the position or they may not be flexible enough to adopt at different working conditions. As a result, their chances of getting the post will be less than their opponents. Considering these issues, some countries created a law for companies not to dismiss candidates for their age. Thus, governments can manage to provide more job opportunities for the unemployed. This might, in turn, boost the economy of the country, as the more people get hired, the more taxes they have to pay.

On the other hand, this might have negative impacts on the companies. First of all, they might face challenges while recruiting employees. For example, the number of applicants will increase and the panel of recruiters might spend more time than usual to choose the most suitable candidate. Furthermore, if a company employs young and inexperienced workers, it is necessary for them to train for at least a year for professional development. Additionally, elder people may not be agile enough to adjust themselves to the different working environment. All of these wil pose a significant threat to the productivity of the company.

To conclude, legally restricting companies to reject job applicants for their unsuitable age, helps governments reduce employment rates as well as make profit for the budget of the country. Nonetheless, this might bring decline in the productivity levels of the certain companies as they spend extra money and time to recruit and train young, unqualified employees.