In some countries, it is usual for young people who graduate from high school to spend a year working or travelling before going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Give reasons and examples from your knowledge or experience to support your answer.

Write at least 150 words.

In the present age, it has been quite common for the alumni to take a year off for a journey or temporary work before attending the university. While this trend may bring about several drawbacks, I believe its benefits still outweigh the disadvantages.

There is no doubt that gap year offers students an opportunity to accomplish comprehensive development. Among some education systems, pupils excessively focus on academic performance and lack of experience of practical circumstances is commonplace. It might be a big challenge for them when entering the labor force since they had little soft skills. However, a gap year of traveling or working would handle this alarming tendency by allowing students to encounter several life problems such as financial crisis, career pressure, or accommodation shortage, to name but a few. As long as youngsters change their mindset and get used to overcoming difficulties, their future life would be facilitated.

However, as every coin has two sides, gap year takers may suffer a higher risk of dropping out of university. To be more precise, the long-term disruption in schooling progress gradually poses a negative influence on the academic background which makes students find it hard to acquire advanced knowledge. If learners fail to keep up with their peers, they will soon express an irresponsible attitude along with the unsatisfactory toward study. Since they got familiar with the journey or working environment, the leavers probably consider entering college is virtually worthless. Nevertheless, it should be noted that large companies only recruit the ones that successfully fulfill their criteria which includes excellent academic background. Therefore, it is a big obstacle for gap year takers who wish to secure well-paid jobs quickly.

In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that taking a gap year brings about potential benefits; however, further education should not be overlooked