In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their
parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages
outweigh the disadvantages?
Nowadays, in some countries, more and more people of adulthood are still living with their
parents, even after completing education and finding a job. While most people do not support
that, personally, I believe that this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks.
The first benefit is the cost saving problem. Fresh graduates and new job seekers often do not
have a stable source of income. On this account, adults usually find difficulties in finance
when they have to pay for their own living expenses. Therefore, living with parents helps to
ease the burden of living expenses.
Second, adults will have a chance of spending more time with their family and vice versa.
Living close together allows family members conveniently to take care of each other. Since
adolescents are not mature enough as well as do not have much real life experience, they can
be highly susceptible. Living close to their parents paves the way for sharing, intervention,
encouragement when any problems abruptly arise.
On second thought, relying too much on the care and provision of parents can easily lead
young adults to become overly dependent. They are not aware of being financially active and
consequently, spending as much as they want because all the expenses their parents have
helped pay for. Be that as it may, it is not a significant problem if adults can learn how to
assert their independence and self-sufficiency while still living with their parents. It should be
that the matter itself is not the problem, the problem lies in the way we perceive and react to
it.
To sum up, in spite of some obvious disadvantages, the practice of keeping to live with
parents, even after graduating and finding employment, has more benefits to offer.