In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

It is becoming popular these days that inhabitants study about their living places. There are several reasons behind the phenomenon. The causes as well as the ways to implements such study will be elaborated below.

The reasons behind the development vary but they may represent human’s desire for their material wealth or mental satisfaction. The first mechanism motivating people to learn about their shelter is financial inducement. People would look for either historical or cultural values with the hope that these factors may increase the price of their accommodations. It is not extraodiornary that structures that once attatched to an important event in the past, can be sold with higher price. Therefore, by revealing the hidden stories of their home in order to market their offerings, people who are selling their safe havens would make a fortune if they found interesting customers. An additional theory is that people may be history enthusiasts, who are curious about their neighborhood, thereby if they acknowledged applealing facts about their home, it would give them a sense of fulfillment. This is especially the case for individuals who have developed their enourmous interest in history for years. Thus,

To learn about the past associated with a particular house or bulding, persons can make use of the data from local library, the internet or local people. First, the local library is where all the relevant information about the neighborhood is stored. Traditionally, local historians would record the evidence about local incidents or construction of major structures. Thus, the source is of primary importance for amateur researchers. Secondly, almost all useful data about all aspects of life can be found on the internets. Because of this, if anything attractive to internet users, it is likely to be preserved on the platform. Finally, native people, especially the local senior citizens who have observed all things about their surrounding may hold a folklore or legend about certain locations in their areas.

In sum, the trend to trace back to the past of living places of people could be attributed to the pursuit of monetary wealth and serve as a hobby for some individuals. Given the support of the local information sources as well as internet connection, people can find such knowledge more easily.