In some countries, more and more people are buying imported food rather than buying food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What can be done to encourage people to buy locally produced food

In many countries, consist of Vietnam, many people like to buy imported food rather than local food. So, what are reasons for this problem? And how can we encourage people to buy locally produced food? There are some reasons and suggested solutions to tackle this problem.

The principal reason behind the increase of using imported food of the vast of majority of people is the high quality. Most of imported foods have been being tested and preserved carefully before approached that create the customer’s trust. In addition, the necessity of consumers is also a good reason. Many people earn more money nowadays, they want to buy something that is worth of money, so imported food seems to become their best choice as they default those foreign foods are best. Last but not least, one of the factors influencing on this problem is the rise of supermarket. People are living in the busy life; they often choose supermarket as convienent place to buy all of things. In those supermarkets, imported food are omnipresent wheather canned food, vegetables, seafood or meat... That lead to the decrease in local consumption.

Therefore, we need to find some solutions to change the consumers’ habit. Firstly, we should diversify all domestic products actively because the quality, model, and packaging can not be made no headway, this, can stimulate the consumers’ interest. Secondly, organic food should be debased. It can be regarded as the high-quality product in general psychology of comsumers but its price is more expensive than foreign goods sometimes. So, the question is: “why we have to buy local food or organic food when they are the same price as imported products?”. Last but not least, government should wage a campaign to “rescue domestic goods” because most of locally produced foods’ consumption rate are in low keep; farmers in local area are low-income earners, if Government helps them, they can have better life, moreover, this can be useful in country’s economic development.

In conclusion, people in both Vietnam and others countries tend to buy imported food because of being better quality, necessity, … so that, some solutions are carried out to raise the local food consumption.