In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that a growing number of youngsters unable to settle down independently of their parents. Despite some obvious merits of this trend, I would argue that these are eclipsed by the drawbacks.

On the one hand, when young adults live with their parents, they can make most of this time to save money. They may wish to buy or rent their own house, or perhaps even to get married, and many will be concerned with repaying student loans. They can make calculation in term of how they can afford to make ends meet. They reckon that they can save money by sharing overhead costs with their parents of running the family home, by contributing to paying bills. This also helps the parents who may be struggling financially to meet their living expenses.

On the other hand, there are two major drawbacks of continuing to live at home with parents. Firstly, even when young people have benefited from a happy and supportive family background, they will want to acquire experience of living independently. They may want to take responsibility for their own finances, or simply enjoy their own private space. Secondly, from perspective of their parents, they may want to have more time for themselves. After all, they helped their children through high education with aim to put the knowledge gained into practice for pursuing a successful career, so now parents deserve some tome for themselves.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of continuing to live with parents after finishing studies are more significant than the advantages.