In some countries older people are being encouraged to work longer and not to retire. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working beyond retirement age.

Every country has its own defined retirement age. Although some countries prefer people with vast experience in certain jobs and encourage them to work beyond their retirement age. Such decision has its own benefits and dis-benefits which directly depends on the nature of the job. Following passages will evaluate such propositions.

Experience is undeniably a substantial part behind every human success. An experienced person is always able to take better decisions due to his earlier encounters with similar circumstances which comes from his decade long service life. Such person ont only take better decisions but also can predict future outcomes based on such decisions. Finally, a person with experience is always respected and followed by his /her co-workers which results in a productive office environment.

Although experience in decision making brings success to a company, it is not that true for jobs where extensive physical involvement is needed. Such jobs are better suited for young people. Experience comes with age, on the contrary, physical capabilities decline after certain stage of our life which results in fatigue or inability to lift or move heavy objects. Thus an experienced person does not bring any thing to such services rather it affects the productivity of the job.

In conclusion, Working beyond retirement age largely depends on the nature of the job. A experienced person is always better in decision making and that makes them a perfect fit for jobs at managerial positions and should be encouraged to work beyond their retirement age. where as, Jobs requiring extensive use of physical labour are not benefited by experienced and aged people and they should be encouraged to retire at certain age of their life.