In some countries older people are being encouraged to work longer and not to retire. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working beyond retirement age.

In some parts of the world, people aged 60-65 are advised not to stop working, although they have already reached retirement legal age. The advantages and disadvantages of being employed over the age of retirement will be analysed in this essay.

On the one hand, continuous working of aged people has benefits. One reason, they will remain productive and financially independent. This means that they will not be a burden to their family in financial aspect, even if they are old. And in addition they still contribute to the government by means of paying taxes, thus this makes them valuable member of the society. Another reason, being employed will help them to be mentally and physically active, as it is known that when people age physiological changes happen in their bodies. Thus, being mobile at work will decrease the possibility of being hospitalised.

On the other hand, regular employment of elderly people has its drawbacks. Primarily, older people holding their job will impede the hiring of young members of society. This will make it unlikely to employ younger generation and this will restrain the establishment of the career of young people, because of this it will add up to unemployment, and may create inequality in employability. Furthermore, there are some senior citizens who are not suitable to continue to participate in the workforce. For an instance, people who work in a blue collar jobs should have strong bodies, because this job requires strength to endure strains, consequently they are no longer strong enough to do the heavy task.

In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages of this topic are numerous. However, after analysing both sides, it is felt allowing older people to work continuously has more benefits than drawbacks.