in some countries, owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It has been noticed that in some cultures, it is significant for people to purchase a house even with a mortgage. Obviously, there are numerous advantages to own a home rather than renting one. However, I believe the strong desire of having a home would conduct a detrimental impact on society and individuals.

To begin with, a large number of people want to own a home because of economic and emotional benefits. For instance, if residents have enough savings for the initial payment, it is definitely a smart choice to pay for the mortgage rather than the rental, especially in the countries where rentals are almost as high as mortgages. Also, the ownership of a home produces a sense of security and settlement for people. They no longer have to move annually from a temporary place to another, with their children and furniture. In summary, those are the two main reasons why people would like to own a property in some areas.

To my mind, it would have a negative impact when a larger population wants to buy a home while nobody lives in renting houses. From the whole society’s perspective, the house price will be extremely high due to the demand for buying a house. Consequently, houses will be a luxury for the poor who need to save every penny and to take their whole life to work for it. Individually, people, especially the young generation, will live under great stress and may overwork for money. Even if they finally have the down payment, they would be bound by the mortgage and miss opportunities to enjoy and explore their life. Must owing a home is harmful socially and individually.

To conclude, it is beneficial that people can buy a house with a mortgage, but the disadvantages of that cannot be ignored. The governments in those countries need to enforce laws to regulate the housing industry and prevent housing frenzy.