In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, houses and living places have become a controversial issue, when people believe that it is better to possess a private house rather than hiring an apartment. There are many driving forces for this situation, such as the value, the sense of freedom, or some social problems. From my standpoint, I consider that this choice has both advantages and disadvantages I will discuss in this essay.

People who make a decision to possess a house will have several justifiable explanations. First of all, the value of a house and its property are more precious than a renting one. For example, in my hometown, ancient houses which were built in the last century are priceless, because it is not simply an accommodation for living, but it conveys a spirit message from our ancestors and national traditions. Besides, the owner has a sense of independence, they can decorate or design their favorite house, while the person who hires the owner's house compromises not to destroy the apartment. Individuals and governments will less worry about social issues such as homeless whenever the contract is expired or renters can not afford the payment.

Owning a home can have positive as well as negative effects in some particular situations. On the one hand, the feeling of comfort and safety always exists if someone buys their private house. On the other hand, in some parts of the world, people hardly pay for such a large property. Renting a house is more suitable for low-income laborers and they can change the location flexibly with job demands.

In conclusion, possessing a house can bring lots of benefits including property and freedom. However, what I believe is the two side effects, may it be good or bad will depend.