Living in the 21st century, the topic of owning a house vs renting has been as heated as ever. However, most people seem to go with the notion that buying a house is of immense importance and this could be due to a variety of reasons.

To begin with, owning an apartment in this modern world of ours gives its’ owner a sense of security, where they are able to rest their heads knowing that no houselord with an authority could get them out. In addition, when you own a house you have the right to decorate and furnish it however way you please, while this is not the case with rentals. Furthermore, people think that buying a house gives them a some sort of prestigious social status over renting one.

In my opinion, I view this situation as being negative on a number of aspects. First off, the costs and debts associated with owning a house out-weight that of renting one by a great deal. It happens upon many occasions that we see owners suffer from being drenched in loans for years trying to pay for a house that they bought. When buying a home you become entitled and restricted to a certain city or place, while renting provides you with the freedom and flexibility to move out to another place whenever you want with no strings attached.

Judging by my own experience, I used to live abroad with my family for almost 18 years, and all those years were spent under a rented house. This gave us the opportunity to move out several times whenever my father had a better job offer in the country where we lived. That certainly would not have been possible had we bought instead of renting a house.

To conclude, It is about time that people start looking at renting apartments differently and actually give it credit for all the advantages that it offers.