In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Permanent accommodation is considered to be more significant for people than renting home in some countries. This situation has various reasons, and in my opinion, there are both positive and negative effect.

Possessing a home brings a lot of advantages to our life. Firstly, houses and buildings are real estats with high value. Investing in this field is safer than buying stocks - a non-stable property. Besides, in your own home, you can decorate and fix things following your taste without waiting the permission from the landlord. For example, in some apartments, fixing and decorating require the allowance from the building manager which is a long process. Lastly, having a long term living at a place will create opportunity for developing firm relationships with neighbors.

On the other hand, the convenience of renting home is undeniable in some situations. If the person often moves from place to place, being a tenant is a better choice. Packaging and unpackaging in rented house are faster than a permanent accommodation. Moreover, mortgage when buying house might put a heavy pressure on some people, which is very stressful compared to spending small amount of money each month for renting. For instance, the buyers who borrow money from the bank have to live in fear for their house being repossessed when they cannot pay the mortgage.

In conclusion, house owners certainly have more benefits than renters, but not all of the aspects are positive.