In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Selecting a place to live in is a big decision to make. In some parts of the world, people value for their own accommodation because it is a sense of achievement rather than renting which could not save money. From my perspective, house ownership is a natural human desire.

To begin with, many individuals seek to own their personal house where they could live with peace of mind. Although they may struggle and face hardships to acquire it, many people have a desire to have their own residence rather than renting. In many Western countries, for instance, people mortgage and take bank loans to purchase houses. Whereas, a tenant not only has to abide by the landlord's rules and regulations but also have no privilege to renovate according to his need. Thus, it is imperative to owe residency where one can live peacefully without the intervention of others.

Nonetheless, I believe that owning a home has many positive aspects such as it gives freedom, an individual does not bind to any rules and he has the opportunity to renovate frequently. Taking myself as an example, when I was living in Auburn, Sydney, I cannot even move a sofa set to another room from the drawing-room, though personal accommodation is necessary to thrive in society. Furthermore, the sense of satisfaction can be felt in their own shelter, while living as a tenant one could not be satisfied because he has to follow strict regulations. So, having personal accommodation will make you feel more relaxed. Hence, owning a home gives a sense of satisfaction and fulfilment.

To sum up, a place to live truly depends on the dwellers either if they live as a tenant or having his own flat. However, renting could not save finances while homeownership can save money in the longer perspective.