In some countries, parents are choosing to teach children themselves at home instead of sending them to school.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions are divergent whether homeschooling benefits children or it is a counterproductive method. In spite of some particular upsides, the downside is far more significant.

Advocates of homeschooling espouse that parents can reduce educational payments to the minimum amount. This may sound reasonable because tuition fees can be dispensed with. However, laboratory apparatuses and learning materials for children to thoroughly comprehend the intrinsic nature of science subjects still need to be taken into account. These pieces of equipment would turn out to be prohibitively expensive when purchased for individual use. Furthermore, an additional cost for employing an expert to supervise experimental activities should be included. These days, most parents are occupied with work and lack specialist knowledge on certain disciplines, so they cannot assist homeschooled students carefully as they expect.

Proponents of home education also agree that children would focus more on the personalized learning setting. This could be understood as a variety of distractors are limited to facilitate a desirable learning process. Nonetheless, it often backfires. Learning in a private context means more freedom for the children; therefore, they would turn their attention to leisure and relaxation once parental supervision is unavailable. Surfing the Internet, playing video games, listening or listening to music is a typical instance of the uncontrolled homeschooled children. They, as a result, would fall into stagnation and academic results suffer in the end. Parents’ anger or even family estrangement could also be the negative outcome of the students’ laziness and self-indulgence.

In summary, the idea of students educated at home appear to positively influence them when proposed, but the drawbacks would be enormously exerted from this superficial approach.