In some countries, parents expect their children to spend long time studying both in and after school and have less free time. What are the possitive and negative effects on children and society they live in

Apparently, parents now are putting more and more pressure on their children to achieve much higher scores in each of subjects they learn at school. Especially in some countries, parents realise that capturing children’s leisure time and making them study as long as possible no matter in or after school may be a feasible way. This essay will analyse the positives and negatives of this phenomenon on childer and society.

On the one hand, concentrating on their study could make the future of their life much brighter and pave the way for their future academic research or career path. Firstly, it is clear that the scores of main subjects which are taught at school would be boosted as students pay more time and attention to their lessons. And as we know, most universities choose talented students based on their academic performance. So entering the prestigious universities means having possibilities to get an ideal job and lead a relatively prosperous life. Secondly, any success in each region needs long-term planning and learning. In school what students learn from teachers is very instrumental to supply them to contribute highly to companies, nations, and society. For example, learning a new language is quite hard and needs extra effort to break the language barrier. With the growth of international trade, companies and societies need people who can master not only languages to introduce their good service and products to other countries. What is more, the society needs professionals to fulfill their duties to make it better and safer. For instance, in China, because of thousands of well-educated engineers, those huge construction projects could be built and conduct well without any accident.

On the other hand, less leisure time will affect students’ development in other parts of life. By capturing their leisure time to boost their academic achievement, it may lead some negative results. From some Japanese media, they reveal that many Japanese students whose daily routine is filled up with homework are facing social problems as they do not have enough social experience. Some of them are afraid of starting a conversation with a strange and this issue is damaging their confidence. Some scholars also believe that phenomenon may finally lead a society problem like the decrease of children birth rates.

In conclusion, parents should help their children find a balanced study timetable to study. Study time and leisure time are both essential for the growth of children.