In some countries, people are having children at later age in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantage outweigh disadvantages?

In recent years, many people incline to give birth at an older age in their life. From my point of view, this results from various reasons which will be elaborated on in this essay and the advantages should be considered more than the drawbacks.

To commence with, there are two primary factors contributing to delayed childbirth. First and foremost, in the context of the developed world, young adults spend the first years of their adulthood laying a concrete foundation for their careers so they have less time for love and marriage. For instance, Japan is the country facing with old population matter because adults do not have much time for their marriage plan apart from working and education to have a better life standard. The second reason worth mentioning is the increasing financial responsibilities of upbringing a child. It is evident from the ascending inflation rate and price hikes in accommodation, nourishment, medical care, clothes, and education fees for babies. Therefore, many young people prioritize saving and establishing a stable income source before embarking on parenthood.

Related to the consequences of this phenomenon, I suppose that there are more advantages than disadvantages. Firstly, it brings to the betterment of life quality for children if they are born in families where parents are knowledgable as well as have sound financial statuses. Indeed, in some rural areas, many young women were pregnant when they were even teenagers and cannot rear a child which results in the fact that more children suffer diseases and cannot access proper education. Secondly, postponing parenthood creates opportunities for adults to focus on their careers. Youth is the best time for people to learn new things, broaden their knowledge, and achieve certain professional milestones. In contrast, if they get married and have babies earlier, they have to assume a full burden for their families and it is quite difficult to balance between life and work.

In conclusion, people in some countries do not put the top priority on having children at an earlier age due to their high regard for their careers and the belief that a better financial state will be better for a child. I assume the positive effects outweigh the demerits.