Some people believe that the newspaper is the best way to learn about news, while others believe that a more effective way is through other media. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Whilst it has been argued by some people that newspapers are the best way to keep abreast of current affairs, others claim that other digital media are better hubs of information. In my opinion, both sources have their advantages which are elaborated on in this essay, yet modern forms of news sources are superior due to their ability to provide recently updated news and other useful functions.

On the one hand, there are good grounds for arguing that newspapers still hold the most popular position among newsreaders. First and foremost, while internet platforms are vulnerable to fake news and false information, newspapers are more authentic and trustworthy. Indeed, most newspaper is written by professional journalists, and undergo vigorous censorship carefully by prestigious publishers, and authorities before being made available to the public. In contrast, news on social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, can be misleading as there are few regulations about what Internet users can post. Furthermore, those who choose printed newspapers as their source of information are less likely to be affected by distractions, including advertisements and notifications that often pop up on people’s screens when they use their smartphones or laptops.

However, I agree with the assertion that newer media outlets outweigh traditional newspapers because of their high-speed information delivery and diversity. Online media can provide up-to-the-minute information about events as they happen so those who read internet-based newspapers can get hourly news updates that are essential for their life or work. For instance, for stock investors, as keeping up with the frenzy trend of the financial market and companies' business activities could make or break their success, online platforms of the press become the most effective way for them. In addition, audiences of modern means of media are provided with a comprehensive perspective under multiple forms from various sources of information. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, apart from reading news on familiar social media such as Facebook or Twitter, people can listen to analyses of medical professionals from the official website of the WHO organization to be better informed about the danger as well, and watch videos documenting tragic deaths caused by coronavirus over the world at that time.

In conclusion, some people prefer reading newspapers because of their high authenticity without distracting elements. Nevertheless, I believe modern media forms are preferable since they provide readers with quickly updated information and various experiences.