In some countries, people are spending long hours at the workplace. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or negative development?

In some countries, especially developed countries, the image of offices in large corporations with lights on from the night before to the next morning is not too strange. overtime is becoming more and more common in many countries, and I strongly believe that this practice does more harm than good.

Nowadays, many people choose to work overtime because of pressure from work. Besides, the attractive bonus from this job can help them meet the essential needs of life. In other words, working overtime has now become an indispensable part or considered an obligation of many people. In an era when economic development is at the forefront in many countries, increasing working hours for many people becomes an incentive for them to work longer hours to complete their work, believing that taking on more accountability can help them and their organizations thrive.

However, I think that if this trend continues to develop, there will be more cons than pros. No one can deny that making a lot of money will help people solve many problems in life. However, working with a tight schedule for many months brings a lot of pressure from work, harms health, from physical to mental, and easily leads to depression. In other words, people overwork to earn more money means they lose their health. Moreover, a person who only works hard to earn money will not be able to stay with his family and lose many good relationships. they find it very difficult to balance work and life, which leads to loss of close relationships and their own happiness, and in the future, they are very susceptible to isolation and depression.

In conclusion, while it's understandable why people are spending more time at work, I still believe it does more harm than we think.