In some countries, people want to have their child at a later age. What are the causes?

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

In most countries, people decided to have their own family much later than others. While this has been viewed as positive, there is also a negative consequence that needs to be considered. This essay will discuss the main cause of this trend as well as the benefits and drawbacks.

The prime reason for a decision to have a child later in an adult life is career growth. Since the majority of the people now invested a huge amount of money in tertiary education, they need to have an employment that enables them to pay off their debts. This will lead them to be more focus in their career and professional advancement rather than thinking of settling their own family. It is a common knowledge, for example, that professionals married and have children in their late thirties, unlike those who have not finished university that gets married at an earlier age.

The main advantages of raising child at later age are financial stability and maturity of both parents. Children that were born by older parents experienced greater convenience in life. Parents have the capacity to provide them all the needed care and financial support. Furthermore, they also capable of providing a good nurturing environment because they are matured enough to handle their parenting responsibility. For instance, a child grows with matured parents can be sure of a secure and better future.

The principal disadvantage of having a child at matured stage of life is aged gap between the child and the parents. This will be an issue later in future if the age gap is more than thirty years. Being in a different generation, there will be a possibility of misunderstanding or misconception.

In conclusion, the decision of when the child will be born in a family is a personal choice. The advantage and disadvantage should be weighed to come up with an informed decision.