In some countries, small town-center shops are going out of business

because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people

without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and this may result in

an increase in the use of cars.

Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

in several nations these days are traveling a long distance to reach shopping centers. This practice has created enormous pressure on small urban shops and has led to certain problems for citizens. in my opinion, the drawbacks of this trend, which are the inaccessibility of urban people and pollution problems, are not adequate enough to overshadow the merits, including cheaper goods and the decline in urban population.

On the one hand, the existence of large rural shops has made people living in towns or cities have less opportunity to purchase food, clothes, or other necessities. Indeed, urban citizens are often overwhelmed by their daily hectic schedules, therefore, they could not spare a long time driving to out-of-town stores. This certainly has resulted in the poor living standard of urban citizens as they are usually not satisfied with what they need. Moreover, by either using car or public transit to reach such shopping centers people are releasing more CO2 into the atmosphere, compared to walking or cycling to shops nearby. The rise of carbon footprint can damage the environment and create pollution, particularly air pollution.

However, people can buy more inexpensive products at large far- to -reach shops. If businesses do not have to pay taxes and spend millions of dollars on land ownership in cities or towns, the prices of goods may be lowered substantially. Another possible advantage of out-of-town shops is that it can greatly reduce overpopulation in urban areas. In other words, as stores and shopping centers are situated in the countryside, some individuals and families might be forced to relocate their place of living, whereby decreasing the population and lending a way for urban residents to have a better life. In Singapore, recent research shows that 25% of urban dwellers have moved to live in the countryside due to the availability of such shops.

In conclusion, although the disadvantages of out-of-town stores may result in environmental issues or inconvenience among citizens, there are some benefits which have to be taken into account, which are cheap goods and the reduction in the population.