In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars.

Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many countries, small town-center stores constantly cease trading, and dwellers tend to travel to megamalls. Consequently, those who possess no private vehicles may undergo limited access to basic goods or have to purchase new automobiles which likely worsen the environmental state that is already alarming. The following paragraphs discuss whether this trend brings more upsides or downsides and reach a reasonable conclusion.

Firstly, this change can adversely affect indigenous people’s financial state. As for shop owners, they can financially suffer from the decline of customers, some can even shut down the business and go bankrupt. It can be detrimental to the local economy as a result. Moreover, some residents who are too impoverished to purchase cars can have less access to essential goods. Secondly, the phenomenon encourages increased traffic leading to higher highway accident rates as well as road damages. Accordingly, local authorities are forced to spend more funds on this issue by cutting funds from other areas.

It is believed that traveling to suburban supermarkets impulses extensive purchase. That means more loads of affordable goods purchased and greater time-saving simultaneously take place. However, despite the time and money saved, people still need to pay for traveling fees and extra fees when they travel far from their homes. Additionally, intense movement causes travelers’ fatigue.

To recapitulate, traveling to suburban stores instead of obtaining essentials in local shops is likely to negatively influence the indigenous economy and transport system. I wholeheartedly believe that the imperfection of the trend apparently surpasses its merits.