In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars.

Today, more and more companies have a tendency to operate their wholesale stores in the outskirts, resulting in the fact that people will need to own their vehicles to access these supermarkets. Therefore, some concerns are raised for not only central shopping malls but also the society. However, we cannot deny some of the benefits of this issue which will be analyzed in this essay.

It is obvious that there are two drawbacks of this situation. Firstly, residents’ life is much more convenient thanks to a wide range of public amenities and central department stores are not the exception. Hence, it is ubiquitous to see flocks of people going to the shops in metropolises for shopping or window shopping with their families, which is considered as their regular hobby to unwind and bond with their companions. If these small town-center stores went down, it would be a negative effect on their life in terms of recreational activities. Furthermore, the environment is also concerned due to the high needs of their own automobiles in order to approach shopping malls in the suburbs. In other words, the more people possess their own transport, the more pressure we may see on road systems as well as pollution problems. It is clear that these consequences totally contribute to the widely acknowledged trouble caused by humans’ activities.

On the other hand, it is possible for the government to tackle the problems and make use full of this trend. When people go to the suburbs for shopping, the severe situations in colossal cities can be solved, as well. For example, there is no traffic jam or traffic congestion in rush hours or at the weekends. Another thing is that going on a one-day trip can be a precious chance for families to strengthen their relationships. This means that people are able to take their mind off work and concentrate on the period of time that they are spending with their beloved people. Additionally, companies themselves can be beneficial from their new location. Specifically, they are capable of serving and offering their customers with high-qualified products with a very reasonable price mainly because setting away from cities allows them to cut costs on expenses and operational activities. Finally, the trend also creates job opportunities for local people so they are willing to stay and stop migrating to the center.

In conclusion, there are both apparent demerits and merits of this phenomenon. However, if the governments have a feasible solution such as public transport to the outskirts, they will address the trouble and benefits not only people but also the businesses.