In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the recent years, the trend of parents having their first child when they are substantially older and matured has been seen, while is often contributed by the mentality that children often act as a barrier to their career growth. There are multitude of pros and cons associated with this issue, which are discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, parents who have their children at a very young age often face multiple hardships in tending for the needs as they aren't financially and emotionally matured. Thus, having seen the repercussions of such examples in the society, people nowadays often delay having children until they are economically stable to bear the responsibility. Moreover, people in their youth nowdays are mostly driven to their careers which takes a lot of their time, such that having a responsibility of rearing a child becomes impossible for them until they retire.

On one hand, this trend has the advantage that the parents are generally in a stable point of their life, both economically as well as mentally. Furthermore, they have enough time and resources in-hand to spend with their child in their later years, while they would not have the opportunity in their earlier years as they have to grind at work, having no time and energy left to spend with their children,

While on the other hand, fertility in people is often a ticking clock, such that people need to resort to expensive means, like IVF or Surrogacy, to have their child. Additionally, as the parents grow older risks associated pregnancy are amplifies as well, which in most cases endangers the child's and the mother's life. Though the most siginficant of the disadvantages as reported by The New York Times in its recent article is that when parents grow older, though having enough time, money, and stability, people do not have the energy to tend for a young one.

In conclusion, as people are growing sensible in the recent years, they prefer to have children when they are older, which is when they are more stable mentally and emotionally to handle the responsibility. There are myriads of advantages of this as the parents have enough resources and time to spend for childcare, which in general outweighs the disadvantages, yet the risks associated to health of the parents and their new ones should not be glossed over.