In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy, such as wind power and solar energy, is increasingly encouraged. Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, technological and scientific breakthroughs have transformed the ways of energy generation. Many countries encourage the usage of alternative sources such as wind power and solar energy. I strongly believe this is a positive trend in current society with considering the natural resources have been depleted at an unsustainable rate.

To begin with, alternative energy would be able to help reducing the pollution caused by traditional sources of energy. Fossil fuels like coal, gas and oil are still dominant sources of energy in current society, but both exploiting process and burning of these fuels have cause serious environmental pollutions, global warming, etc. By contrast, new energy sources like wind power and solar power are much cleaner and less pollution generated, which produce electricity without wasting limited natural resources.

Secondly, alternative energy sources are renewable and sustainable. Fossil fuels require millions of years to be generated from vegetables, and it will be used up eventually if there is no alternative sources. Differently, wind and solar energy are the natural resources that can be constantly used. The sustainability of alternative energy would offer a better solution to meet the fast increasing demand on energy.

In addition, with new technological innovations on wind turbine and solar panel industry, the equipment's price have dropped significantly in last decade. Many countries are affordable to set up such electricity stations, and the subsidies provided by some governments further promote the development of this industry. In a longer term, the price of renewable energy will definitely be lower than non-renewable energy, with considering the supply of non-renewable energy is limited.

From my view, in order to reduce pollution and establish a sustainable development model, governments should support and encourage the use of renewable energy sources and reduce the global dependence on fossil fuels.