That high school leavers are motivated to spend a year traveling around the world or having a job before enrolling in tertiary education has gained huge popularity these days. This trend, also known as “gap year”, would have both positive sides related to opportunities to realize the students’ interests as well as to develop life skills and a negative side about the interruption of the learning process.

On the one hand, there are two main advantages for students taking a year off. First, they would have a chance to gain a better sense of self given that they have more time to explore the real world. By working or traveling prior to university education, these students could discover their interests and passions, leading to informed decisions about career options later. To exemplify this, I shall make reference to data from a worldwide survey conducted in 2018 showing that the drop-out rate from university due to choosing the wrong major in students picking the course after taking a “gap year” is around 10 percent less compared to those going straight to university. Another positive aspect is that the students would develop essential skills throughout a year off. It could mean learning a language while living abroad, honing interpersonal and leadership skills while working on a project or campaign, or gaining hands-on experience through a job or internship. Such skills would play a vital role in students’ academic study and give them an advantage in coping with the challenges of student life.

On the other hand, one significant disadvantage of taking a year off between high school graduation and tertiary education is that it can be a distraction from further studies since some students find such breaks so relaxing and enjoyable that they lose their academic momentum. They may start to immerse themselves in earning money and becoming financially independent, making them give less importance to their studies. Unfortunately, their career prospects are likely to be affected considering that it would surely be essential to have good academic qualifications to become more competitive in the job market these days. Worse still, if the students did not acquire fundamental knowledge of their major, they would struggle throughout their life to make a good living given being unskilled and have less chance for advanced studies or further promotion.

In conclusion, discovering career passions and sharpening important skills would be the two positive aspects of the year taken before university education. Nonetheless, the problem for high school leavers would be the reluctance to continue their higher education.