In some countries, especially, in developed nations students often take a year gap after their schooling in order to travel and make money for their further studies. There are some benefits as well as drawbacks for this trend. This essay will examine both advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Perhaps the major advantage of taking a year off after schooling is students can travel to different places during this year. By travelling different countries, students can enhance their knowledge about the world and different cultures this will refresh their minds and makes them more mature. Students in schools are often innocent and they do not know what is happening in outside world. However, if they take one year gap after schooling for travelling, it will help them to acquire knowledge about the world, different kind of people, cultures e.t.c. Another important point is, working in this one year gap is benefits students in terms of money. As education is expensive today, this money is helpful for their future studies,. For example, in some countries in west students work and travel this year off in order to travel and make money for their university education.

There are, of course, negative aspects for this trend . The greatest of these is that students may distracted from their studies and they will not show any interest to join in university after this gap. Some pupils will find this travelling life enjoyable and they will come to a decision that not to join in universities for further studies. Another possible issue is, students are too naive and they do not know the hypocrisy happening the outside world. While travelling and making friends , they may be end up in some bad company and this might risk their life. For example, there are many examples in my home city where school children became part of the sex racket and other social groups because of the freedom they got at a very young age.

My conclusion would that this is a well balanced issue. There are probably an equal number of pros and cons to making either choice. And i suggest to parents and teachers to close monitor their children even though they are on a year gap for travelling and other purposes.