In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people to do this.

Whether youngsters should be inspired to take a gap year for tourism or work before entering universities or not arouses a heated controversy. In the following essay, the pros and cons of this trend will be fully figured out.

On the one hand, having a year off after finishing high school can be seen positive for two main reasons. Firstly, a gap year for finding a job or taking a trip to somewhere is considered as an invaluable opportuinity for the young to relax after sitting for nervous exams during their period at high school. As a matter of fact, students can make a speedy recovery after hard-working days preparing for examinations. Secondly, young people can boarden their horizons in many areas such as culture, technology, education and so on thanks to spending a gap year traveling or working. As a result, they can make their own decisions on continuing their university learning or getting a job straight after school.

On the other hand, the trend towards taking a gap year for vocation or occupation can be deem to on the opposite angel. The young's studies will be negatively interrupted, which is very hard for those pursuing learning at univerisities to keep up with the curriculum. These students, therefore, are on the verge of facing studying a year later in comparison with those who decide to enter univesities without having a year off. Moreover, youngsters also face many risks on working or traveling on their own due to lack of some practical skills. The young who suffer from the shortage of significant skills will not be able to deal with some dangerous situations.

In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages of having a year off are thoroughly discussed. However, it is necessary for the young to make up their mind on which is the best way for them to follow.