In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, it’s quite common for students to have one gap year after graduating from high school, especially in developed countries. There are many reasons for this phenomenon. Young people can gain lots of benefits as well as drawbacks from this decision.

Students in high school are often viewed as being too young and having little life experience to determine which careers interest and suit them. Travelling, working or volunteering for a year can broaden their horizons and offer them a chance to understand themself better. This is not only a trend among rich students but this is also among poor people who are looking for financial independence. Furthermore, it is an opportunity for them to become stronger and learn how to cope with difficulties they might encounter in their university years.

In addition to the benefits listed above, some concerns exist that student may forget knowledge if they have such a long break time and that leaves them disadvantaged to pass the university entrance exam. More seriously, some students lose their interest in studying due to their immersion in earning money. Even when they return to universities, some students even cant adapt to the academics and other students again.

I encourage young people who feel vague about their future and ambition should consider taking a gap year. That’s definitely better than making a wrong decision and deciding to give up it some years later. Break time can teach young people many positive things but also can tempt them to do things that are not good. When they pass that time, I believe that they will be more mature and will have better results in universities since they know what they need and what they want.