In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In many cultures, young adolescents are motivated to visit many far-flung corners in the world as well as engage in some occupations before enrolling in higher education. Although this phenomenon contains both pros and cons, I strongly believe that there would be much more benefits gained through these experiences

On the one hand, taking a gap year to travel far away is a really good idea since it does not only give the young people more opportunities to expand their mind but also help them to make up their mind in terms of future job. In fact, since they have to live and adapt to a whole new culture, they progressively become independent, develop more soft skills and have deeper insights into many aspects of life. In addition, these people are going through the threshold of their life, which is deciding their major and future career, so taking a year off to encounter a new environment is really practical as it can equip them with a host of hands-on experiences as well as give them more information related to different jobs. Aa a result, it gives them a more precise look into each occupation and help them realize what they truely want to do

On the other hand, this activity can take its toll on these young people as a vast majority of them are inexperienced and immature, they would probably have to cope with many challenges that they have never experienced once. Specifically, these people lack of many practical knowledges that they never have heard about since they have been catered so well by their parents. Therefore, it is problematic when they have to encounter life-issues, for example some people do not even know how to wash their own clothes as they always have their clothes washed by a washing machine, therefore, when they move to a new area that lacks of this equipment they will totally find themselves in trouble. Moreover, because of the same reasons, people who just graduated from high school can be potentially preys of many cybercriminals and other crimes

To conclude, it is really fascinating to while away for a year before taking the university studies. Although this decision can bring some shortcomings due to the inexperience of young adolescents, I still endorse the idea that they should take this chance as it is really valuable and practical for their future path