In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people to do this and give your own opinion.

It is common these days for youngsters in some countries to have a break from studying after graduating from high school and get a job or go on a travel. This trend would create certain benefits but there would also be some possible drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is clear that a gap year would create several advantages for young people. One evident strength is that it would help students make the right decisions about their future careers. While having different jobs, they can gain experience and have a broader view of their career paths. Another reason is that it would provide youngsters with a chance to develop necessary skills such as communication skills and broaden their general knowledge of different cultures after traveling. Last but not least, young people who take a gap year tend to be more independent, which is an important factor in university life, as well as giving them an advantage in terms of handling difficulties in student life.

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. Firstly, young adults might be exposed to an excessive number of options and have difficulty deciding which career to choose. Secondly, they may end up not returning to higher studies or finding it difficult to re-adapt to an academic environment. For example, they may think it is better to continue their current job or to do different things rather than enroll in a university course.

In conclusion, there are plus points to working and travelling for a year after high school regarding helping make the right decision on careers, developing essential skills and being more independent. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of too many job options and difficulties readjusting to an academic environment.