In developed countries, education supports the view that youth should have GAP year means that an academic year, taken by a student as a break between the secondary school and higher education. Generally, it brings much more benefits than harms for them to do this.

The first gain is experience, which is collected while working or travelling, supplies to youth many valuable lessons in their lives. During this period, they would contact many kinds of people in numerous circumstances. Everywhere that they go over, teaches them different cultures, languages, life skills, ... The accumulation of experience contributes to open students' awareness. It is truly useful for young people in their learning. Also, after gathering experience, they easily choose which department of the university is suitable for them or which one they like. It seems like a graceful way of career orientation to decide the future occupation, On the other hand, the student might find that study is not eventually accurate choice. Money can be made by common labours' job without the education. Youth will not want to school and rush to labour to make money. This causes to their future development such as low-learning, low salary, promotion opportunities, ... These advantages and disadvantages affect significantly to their education.

In addition, GAP year either affect the lifestyle of students who take it. Everybody would have met up with them, show the different character, personality, lifestyle, ... It is beneficial and also harmless to young people. For an instant, they can not know that which kind of people they will meet, maybe a lawyer with terms and exceptions, a teacher with his knowledge or a businessman with his achievement, ... who can offer meaningful things for them, a kind of good person. In contrast, there is still a drunker drinks alcohol day-by-day, the unemployment is dissapointed with life or a pessimist with their weird opinion. Although which kind of person that they meet, it may cause 2 sides of the issue - bad or good - that be unforseen circumstances. It is not only a challenge but also a chance to find out themselves, their purpose of life. A precious opportunity for enjoying or facing things that can be unanticipated.

To conclude, it consists of the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. However, the disadvantages are not really serious, people can prepare before perform GAP year. More countries should encourage this manner.