Nowadays, taking a break year before studying at colleges is becoming more popular, especially in Western countries. It is argued that youngsters can have a motivation to be freshmen in universities by taking a year to work or travel after graduating from high school, which is called a gap year. This essay will discuss what benefits and the risks the students will get.

First of all, during the vacation, the scholars have a lot of opportunities to detect their actual interest and gain satisfaction for preparation before universities. Working as a waiter or a sailor supplies the youngsters enormous experiences about subjects which play a significant part in choosing their careers. For example, serving customers provides the ability to good communication or being a local tour guide helps many about the knowledge of history. If an individual is forced to do, he will not put his best effort into so that the outcome is not like expected, the same goes with students. Entertainment in the gap year gives them a satisfaction to work hard. In short, the effects of the calm year between high school and colleges are undeniable on account of the amusement and the practices.

On the other hand, a gap year causes the addiction to the joy and leads to a huge gap in study ability. There are several sites which are not very good to travel and to work. The possibility of getting involved in those sections of the young is incredibly high. Some teenagers who yearn for easy money, respectively in the gap year will possibly become a drug dealer and easily be imprisoned. Moreover, students tend to spend the whole year relaxing so that the formulas and the lessons which they have learned at school and while the preparation for the university entrance exam fades gradually.

In conclusion, a gap year will be great provided that students balance their study and entertainment.