In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Taking a gap year is popular in some countries to get variety of experiences or broaden one’s horizon before starting university studies. However, it cannot deny that, students might miss the chance to start their career at earlier age and can be difficult to concentrate on studies. In this essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages for taking a gap year before reaching a reasonable conclusion.

Students are taking a gap year for various reasons, but it is definite to bring the advantageous value of independence. By travelling around the world, students can grasp the wide knowledge about the world as well as understand the differences in culture, customs and tradition. For example, it is very common for Australian students to take a gap year and travel around the world, especially in Asian countries and they usually learn other languages and adapt their cultures before they return to universities.

Furthermore, students are enabling to grasp a practical work experience during the gap year. If students do not choose to travel but chose to work, they can be able to have some practical experiences. By working at companies, they can understand the reality of work and society which can be beneficial to choose for their degrees at universities.

In contrast, the time to take for a gap year can be seen as a wasting. In comparison to students who did not choose to take a gap year, they walked a linear path to university and they can graduate faster than those who chose to take a gap year. In other words, students with a gap year can be a year or two years behind the schedule compared to other students who did not take a gap year.

In addition to this, students may lose concentration after taking a full year resting. If students take a gap year without continue with their study, they might have difficulty to concentrate or study when they back to school. For full one year, students just require to concentrate on work or travel which can remove the study habits of students. In the case of working people, it is very common to see that they have a difficulty to go back to universities to do masters or PhD degrees.

In my opinion, taking a gap year has more benefits than that of drawbacks of time wasting and concentration issues, because those valuable lessons are worth more. Practical experiences and real life experiences are difficult to observe while working at full time however, as a student it is a great opportunity to learn about the life and observe the surrounding environment. By knowing the surroundings and lifestyles, students can easily understand their life paths and that can motivate their studies when they return to universities.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages aspects of taking a gap year. The definite benefits are the practical experiences and broaden one’s horizons whereas the drawbacks would be the time and concentration issues.