In these days, it is ubiquitous for the young generation who take a break after graduating high school to work or go abroad. This trend would create certain benefits but there will also some drawbacks.

On the other hand, it is clear that broaden the horizons or working would bring about several advantages. One evident strength is that it would make the youth more independent. This is because they spend the whole year immersing in another culture and country, as well as solving the real world problems by themselves. Consequently, adolescents who dare to step out the comfort zone, they could find the purpose of life and enjoy whole life without any regret. Another reason is that it would help young people gain many hands-on skills, which is essential for their career. For instance, in the software area, when adolescences take a year to face up the real-life problem, they could stand out at the employment marketplace.

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. First and foremost, there is a possibility that they will fall behind when compared to other students. If students were wasting a gap year to hang out with buddies or be addicted to the game, they could not enough strong motivation to follow the academic program in university. Second, the young generation could be demotivated by money which is made from work. In particular, there are many possible cases that because of high-paid jobs, they may decide to drop out the academic course. However, this is claimed that the academic period is a vital opportunity for every student to explore themselves.

In conclusion, there are plus points to experience the company environment and abroad culture regarding independence and high-income skills. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of waste time and money attraction.