In some countries, young people are richer than ever before. However, they are less happy. What do you think are the cause of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is a noticeable phenomenon that adolescents are becoming unhappier, even while being much richer. And I believe there are two major reasons behind us.

In the past, parents came bake home from work earlier, at which time the whole family could have dinner together or chat and laugh while watching TV. This seemingly ordinary life did make everyone happy. Nowadays, however, parents often work overtime due to keen competition in the workplace, so teenagers indulge in various social websites, which provide them a sense of belonging. But no doubt, these virtual experiences cannot improve emotional well-being.

Another important factor is that once parents realized their mistakes and felt regretful, they usually compensated their kids by giving them more money to buy things they want. Naturally parents were under the assumption that doing so would make their children much happier. In fact, this makes the whole thing much worse. Once young people become richer and more comfortable, they often fail to get goals for their lives and miss the chances of imagination, struggling, and creativity. The process of seeking happiness per se is one of the happiest feelings.

So, how can this be brought back on the right track? Parents must learn to strike a proper balance between family time and work schedule, even though it is real challenge in this commercial world. Young people, on the other hand, should reduce their reliance on the Internet and engage in face-to-face social life more. Making friends on the sports field, helping neighbors, having many hobbies, and even trying to set up your own business may make you happy. Step out of comfort zone and do not be afraid of failure. Life is full of ups and downs; the person who never experiences the downs cannot really enjoy the happiness of the ups in life.