In some cultures, children are often told that they achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In this contemporary era, to achieve something people need to give their best for their dreams. Some people encourage children to work hard in order to achieve their goals. This essay shall analyze the possible merits and demerits of this assertion.

Needless to say, there are several benefits of working hard. One of the integral and indispensable pros is that by repeating the same thing over and over again, people can become experts on that thing. For example, when a guitarist is practicing various choruses with new tunes, it would be beneficial to become a master of the guitar. Another major potential perk is that success is not served in just one go, it has to be earned. In order to get success, it requires years of preparation and determination towards the goal. Only a person with a definite goal and vision is able to triumph over failures and can achieve anything.

On the other hand, only working hard is not enough to get success as it can have numerous disadvantages as well. First and foremost, the people who are trying hard and working 24*7, without proper planning to achieve their dreams, might get exhausted from a daily routine which can affect their mental health. Secondly, when someone is working hard on things that are less likely to be in their interest then it would just boost up the worries and there would be no improvement in productivity. A tangible example is that when people are doing some task in their job which is not in their interest, it would be only a burden to them even if they try hard to complete their tasks which can lead to an impasse as they are trying hard and still not able to get better results.

To conclude, it is conspicuous that working hard is a good thing to teach to the children. However, there are other aspects that need to be considered in order to be successful in their lives.