In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of telling children that message?

In some places, children are told that if they put enough effort, they will gain what they want. Even though it’s very supportive idea that encourages children considerably, this statement has pros and cons to be discussed.

It’ true that children are future of mankind, they have a lot of potential that we cannot imagine how they would turn out to be. It’s very ideal that they are motivated from young age to try hard and work for what they dream of. In formative years, if children set a specific goal to hold on to it, they are more likely to turn to be successful adults in the future. When adult keep telling children that idea, they encourage children to have faith in what they do and believe in themselves. It also shows that children have support from their family and beloved ones. We can easily see on Internet some inspirational quotes from celebrities that if they want something they didn’t dream of it but they needed to work for it. One general formula that works for every successful people is trying hard. For example. a superstar football player Cristiano Ronaldo who is known as best football player of all times , the whole world knows that he wasn’t born a genius but he practiced extremely hard from very young age to become a professional , he did it with passion and resistance that nobody can imagine.

On the other hand, there are disadvantages if children are not capable of making their dream comes true. Children are very naive and innocent when they believe in thing that adults tell them they will stick to it. It’s obvious that not everybody can have what they want no matter how hard they try . In case of children , if they have a failure , it will lead to tremendous frustration to them and they will lose confidence in themselves. As a result , the consequence could be psychological issues for them and it would affect their grow up process.

In conclusion, motivating children can be substantially beneficial; however, adults also need to educate them about importance of failure because to have success, you have to face some failures. Thanks to those failures, we can appreciate more the success.