In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages of giving children this message?

In this day and age, along with the rapid development of technology, humans always have to push themselves more in order to keep pace with the world. There are many children across countries who are encouraged to try their best and, therefore, can achieve everything. I believe the merits of this encouragement will outweigh the demerits.

Turning to the disadvantages side, the first foremost drawback is that these encouragements can make children daydream incorrectly about their goal. In other words, they can not realize their true ability or position and set a very unrealistic goal. For instance, some children are urged to dream about becoming a superhero or spiderman. Hence, it is obvious that there will be no probability for those dreams to turn into reality. Once such children can not achieve those goals, they may become pessimistic and behave in a negative way.

On the other hand, there are several compelling benefits. Firstly, children will be more energized and have more belief once they have a goal. This goal will play a vital role in one’s life as a motivation to push people through a diversity of difficulties and adversities. In addition, having a goal and motivation means individuals can be nurtured their soul and boosted their creativity. As a result, such people will have more bravery to go and try in a new path that nobody has done before. Yet a mere motivation is insufficient to contribute to success without any hard work. The harder they work, the more successful they will be.

In conclusion, urging children to dream and accomplish goals will have more benefits than drawbacks. However, it still depends on how such children are encouraged.