Some developing countries invite large foreign companies to open offices and factories in order to help their economy. However, others feel that foreign companies should be shut out and instead the government should help the local companies to contribute to the economic growth. Do you agree or disagree?

As international firms are expanding their businesses all around the globe, which is favoured by one section of society, critics believe that assisting local firms is a fruitful step by the government for uplifting the economic state of the nation. I, however, believe that overseas companies play a more vital role in the development of the country.

The following reasons justify my notion regarding the invitation to large companies. First and foremost, multinational companies provide vast job opportunities to the natives of any nation, as they require a larger workforce for their functioning, and the packages that they offer to their employees are higher as compared to those of local companies. Secondly, they have more sophisticated techniques that not only allow for improving the quality of the labour but also provide them the chance to learn about state-of-the-art technology.

Moreover, due to international marketing and tie-ups, they have access to various kinds of help from any of the first-world countries and will be able to utilize the available resources to accomplish their staple needs. For instance, the growth of Nestle is mainly due to the fact that they are able to produce dairy products on a large scale with the availability of a massive milk supply. Furthermore, thanks to the overseas companies, local rivals become more competitive and innovative as they try to achieve the same level at which these international firms are operating, by virtue of which they can learn so many new techniques that they were not using previously, which in turn proves to be so beneficial for the customers. Last but not least, this step of government also helps to raise the standard of living of people because, with this, they can attach themselves to ultra-modern technology and all the latest techniques that they can apply in their daily lives to boost their way of life.

In conclusion, I reiterate my view that it becomes the need of the hour to invite foreign brands to establish their businesses for the effective and quick development of any nation.