Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

In this day and age, a range of students is made to attend certain classes when they are 15 years of age, whereas others are demanded to learn various subjects before leaving school. Each of these teaching methods has its own perks. Although an educational institution system with a huge number of subjects can provide diverse knowledge, I totally believe that a narrower range of subjects is better as have more time for other extracurricular activities.

Supporters of the previous educational system may suggest that pupils have access to a broader range of knowledge that they will need later in life. For one, a broad range of holistic curriculums will bring to pupils the possibility to be flexible in several fields which can be a great help for adolescents when they grow up. Take Vietnam as an instance, students aiming at nursing courses in university are only required to have good marks in Maths, Chemistry, and Biology. Nevertheless, the knowledge they have acquired in non-major academic classes such as Art or English can offer them competitive benefits when they apply for an occupation in multiple companies, compared to those who are not acquainted with foreign languages or creativities.

Despite the perks of studying a wide range of academic classes, pupils who learning only an average number of subjects have more time for other purposes than those who just focus on learning in classes. With fewer subjects to learn, they have more extra time either for stress relievers like playing sports or taking a rest or for further researches related to their chosen subjects. The former exercise helps youngsters de-stress and re-energize at school, while the latter is an excellent method to recap the lesson presented in class. According to scientific evidence, these activities improve students' study efficiency and academic achievement, making such an educational system far more superior to one that requires learners to master a variety of subjects.

To summarize, each of these wonderful teaching methods has its own strengths. While the knowledge gained in numerous classes may be valuable, I feel that a study schedule with fewer classes is more advantageous to students who can devote more time to deeper study or leisure.