Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?
There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether job
applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. In this essay, I
will explain why social skills are more vital, compared with academic qualifications.
The merits of outstanding social skills are apparent. Firstly, communication is the key to
career success in this day and age. This is mainly due to the fact that the 21
st century is
best characterized by constant interaction with different people, no matter the communication
happens in person or online. Secondly, the ability to sell products or services is of paramount
significance in any business – this requires strong social skills. For example, an employee
with excellent social skills is able to have an impact in front of customers or clients; as a result,
products or services can be perceived as high-value. Furthermore, employees with better
social skills are generally more easy-going, which is very important to the workplace, including
the employer. After all, as the saying goes, “Who you work with is as important as what you
do.” – An enjoyable work environment needs socially skillful employees.
In contrast, some others may claim that academic qualifications are the pre-requisite
of employment. Apparently, many positions require certain qualifications. However, in
modern-day society, more and more employers have realized that whether employees can
get the results that the business wants is the key to a business' success. It can be seen that
qualifications do not play a key role in this regard.
Having considered both views, I think employees’ social skills are of overriding
importance for an organization. Also, I would suggest employers consider job applicants’
social skills first, which I believe is soundly based on the above reasoning I have
presented.