Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so.

Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate and reach a conclusion.

For many employers, granting gyms or sports clubs membership is a good way to enhance their employees’ productivity. While some people agree that this may lead to better output at work, others think that it is fruitless. This essay will discuss the two opposing sides before reaching a conclusion.

On the one hand, health-based incentives appear to be a good way to help both employers and their staff. Going to gyms center or playing a certain kind of sport can improve employees’ physical health and thus their work can be improved profoundly. Additionally, by focusing on staff’s well-being, the company can be regarded as an ideal place to work for as it means that they do not only concentrate on revenue, but also care about people who work for them. This can be a factor that helps attract new talents to come and devote to the company. Moreover, in the long run, if the entire company is in good health, their business will inevitably thrive.

However, it is not a good move financially, while there are many other ways to allocate their budgets. Firstly, it would be difficult to control the efficacy of the practice because knowing if the employees work-out or not is not an easy task so to quantify the effectiveness of the measure is almost impossible. Besides, some employees might even find that it is a burden if not an extra task from their managers. This, accumulated over time, can build up resentment so instead of being motivated, those employees might lose their enthusiasm and their interest at work. It would be more efficient if companies invest in some financial incentives such as pay increments, perks or some in the job training so that their workers could achieve better career progression.

In conclusion, while for some companies, subsidising healthy pursuits might be superficially attractive, there are more practical and measurable ways to improve the performance of their workforce.