Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

People have different views about the way to honor excellent staffs by giving them more money. While some argue that it would be negative influence on others, I believe that this rewarding strategy can benefit to both employees and company and some other methods to encourage hard-working worker can be promoted.

There are various reasons why I am in favor of this kind of reward. The first point is that money is necessary in order to meet their basic needs such as housing, bill, health care and education. Hence, the attraction of earning additional money will increase the diligence of employees. The second point is that only really successful employees can get the reward, so every worker will try the best of their abilities to be on the top by their outstanding performance. Obviously, this process would lead to the competition among the members of the staff. As a result, company can benefit from it as the competition usually triggers the improvement in the performance.

Nevertheless, I believe that other motivations are just important as extra bonus. A good approach is for management to identify excellent staff through incentive schemes such as “Employee of the Month” or “Worker of the Week” to make people feel recognized. Such people are usually singled out with the help of clients. Hotels, restaurants and tours operators may also allow staff to accept tips offered by clients who are pleased with the services. However, tipping is a highly unreliable source of income and does not favor everyone.

In conclusion, employees want to recognize for their contribution – whether through receiving more money or simply some encouraging words. They also need to feel that their contribution to the whole company is worthwhile. Good management recognizes this need and responds appropriately.