Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

It is undoubted that the world today has become a global village. One of the effects of this is that it is likely for people all over the world using the same language. From my point of view, there are both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, international language has had positive influence on business, education and social life. Firstly, cooperation between companies in different countries would be able much more convenient when communication in international business meeting using the similar language. Secondly, it is obviously easier to access to many sources of important textbooks and journals in a wide range of fields such as technology, science. Finally, the availability of the dominant language can also lead to the better chances to enlarge the network of friends. People will be less likely to be isolated when travelling to other countries as they can interact with the locals.

On the other hand, these developments can be extremely negative. A language is much more than simple means of communication; it has a vital connection with the cultural identity of the people who speak it. There are a variety of myths, legends, traditional and cultural activities which are passing over the next generation using their own language, as many tribes have no written literature. Therefore, if national languages do extinct, a whole way of life will disappear with it, and we will lose the rich cultural diversity that makes societies more interesting.

In conclusion, it seems to me that global language has certainly revolutionized communication , but not all of the outcomes of this development have been positive.