Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language.

Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

It is supposed that in the foreseeable future, linguistic homogeneity will be a conspicuous trend in the human world. While it could be a potential breakthrough for humanity, there is a widespread worry that this will lead to the gradual demise of national identity.

Admittedly, it is quite unilateral to ignore the considerable benefits of one world language. Firstly, using the same language can enable people to engage in the international working environment and adapt to the globalization era. It subsequently results in another merit that seasoned employers have a fair chance to demonstrate their ability without facing language barriers. Secondly, a universal language would open avenues to more business opportunities because it promotes understanding and economic cooperation among nations. In this way, the global dialect might bridge the gap between diverse communities, thereby facilitating multinational activities ranging from commerce to tourism.

However, changes in language often reflect the negative changing values of a culture. Language and culture are inextricably linked, with every unique word of a dialect representing local people’s ideas, thinking, and beliefs as well as the length of a country’s heroic history. In other words, the disappearance of a mother tongue would cause a large number of people to sacrifice their core identity since their native tongue is prevailed by a predominant one. Additionally, a tongue plays a prominent part in human beings as it symbolizes their origins and defining characters. For instance, Vietnamese have been known for their heroism and patriotism via words of their national anthem; therefore, they are proud of their rich historical and cultural heritage. Finally, developing a closer relationship with the rest of the world does not necessarily give up indigenous cultures due to their uniqueness and distinctiveness. Thus, it can attract foreign visitors and yield high income.

In conclusion, the trend towards linguistic uniformity would be of benefit to society, but nevertheless, it has posed a threat to human identity and cultural diversity. Social developments lie in differences, not in similarities.