Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Distance learning through online platforms has been becoming the mainstream when several colleges deliver that instead of traditional classes. Increasing the use of the Internet for teaching would certainly contribute to the positive development in education but there will also be some disadvantages.

Undoubtedly, virtual courses offered by many institutions bring numerous benefits. Firstly, these distance learning classes allow students to access both recorded and live sessions via various tools such as Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, and Zoom. This, in turn, is very flexible, convenient, and effective to the learners because they can study whenever and wherever, and they can cover materials at their own pace. Secondly, e-learning opens access to anybody willing to learn, regardless of age, ability, and background. For example, people with disabilities are able to enroll in an Internet-based course at home without going to lecture halls. Finally, a large number of resources will be advantageous to undergraduates who are seeking crucial information for their assignments and research.

Despite the positivity mentioned before, it is true that such online education has a few drawbacks. One major disadvantage is that there is less direct interaction. To be more specific, e-learners might not have the opportunity to engage in face-to-face contact with their teachers and peers. As a result, they cannot hone comprehensively their skills which need practical hands-on experience. Additionally, the likelihood is that online students will lack self-discipline when studying on account of some factors, namely social media and other external forces.

In conclusion, while there are plus points to technology-based courses as a revolution in contemporary tertiary education systems, their downsides cause concern to some extent. Thus, it is important to develop teaching methods to fit young generations into an advanced society.