It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes and effects of this situation?

It is irrefutable that the inadequacy of students pursuing science disciplines becomes a prevalent concern of many academics and educationalists in several part of the globe.

The fact that fewer students opts for science-related subjects may derive from two following reasons. Initially, the dull and demanding nature of scientific knowledge in general is to blame for the lack of interest among students. This means that whoever sticks to these subjects has to show great perseverance, long-term commitment, and ongoing dedication. Besides, many students are reluctant to take science-based majors as lectures may tend to deliver unbearably tedious lessons and they are required to conduct numerous scientific experiments and projects. Second, limited future employment opportunities could discourage students from enrolling in science-related faculties. Compared to graduates in economics, art and communication, those who major in science field are generally restricted to a certain number of jobs or positions.

The continuing decline of science enrolment rate might be responsible for a sheer number of adverse implications inflicting on society. The initial possible impact is a labor shortage in the realm of science. If there are less graduates qualified for science-based jobs, people can face the failure to meet the increasing demand of workforce in the fields such as manufacturing, technology and development. The second potential repercussion is that it will inhibit/impede the evolution of society owing to the fact that scientific achievements and advancements make enormous contribution to the improvement of human beings’ life quality.

All things considered, the monotonous and demanding essence of science- related subjects and poor job/career prospects are two primary reasons why students tend to take alternatives in other domains/for their majors, and this inclination can give rise to the dearth/scarcity of science human resources as well as hindering societal development.