In some countries, more and more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there have been some changes in family structure; yet there still has a tendency that an increasing number of adults opt to live with their parents due to rising economic upheavals. Although this may bring several downsides for them, the returns are highly justifiable.

The first reason why residing with parents is rooted in the fact that young people could economize. Since the population is booming, especially in urban areas which appeal to young adults, an accommodation problem is problematic. For example, newly graduated students can save money on rent, utility bills, internet, security, and other expenses when they attend college. Therefore, if undergraduates or graduates have a desire to formulate plans such as a start-up, this way of living is sensible.

In addition, staying under one roof has other positive implications for family relationships. No one knows a person better than his or her parents. If young people are having trouble at work or in a relationship, they will be able to consult their parents and learn from reflecting on their experience. Besides, not having to learn to navigate a whole new setting frees a person up to do better things. Advice from families would help people more mature, thus ultimately forging stronger bonds between family members.

Nevertheless, the likelihood is that young adults will lack their privacy. Because of parents’ affection for their children, they are likely to intervene in their children’s lives. That may gradually create a psychological burden that makes people impose themselves on a certain framework.

In conclusion, notwithstanding having an inadequacy in private space, living at home with their family is still a positive development. True community is a rare and wonderful thing in life, and there is no guarantee to find another one as home.