International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country visited.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Unarguably, traveling to a foreign country has certainly exerted several positive effects on travelers and the country visited. It is my view that international travel does more harm than good to society.

It is important to recognize that one of the enormous advantages of international tourism is to boost nations’ economies. Taking Thailand as an example, there are millions of tourists visiting there every year; hence, it contributes to the cuisine and hotel sectors whose income generated comprises a large proportion of national income. Besides, being able to travel out of the country can help people be exposed to a variety of local cultures. This exposure to foreign customs and people would provide visitors with more different aspects of life, and thus they can gain a better sense of self and a broader perspective.

However, these benefits might be eclipsed by the downsides to some extent. With regard to the tourists, travel expenses are highly expensive due to including countless costs such as transportation and service and many complicated procedures. For the host country, a massive influx of visitors can eventually lead to immense environmental threats. These factors entail the increased presence of excessive constructions which have tendencies to alter or even completely destroy natural habitats; therefore, the indigenous species would be on the verge of extinction. Furthermore, the frequent use of vehicles may raise carbon emissions and cause extensive damage such as water and air pollution.

In conclusion, while international tourism can bring economic benefits and rewarding experiences to tourists as well as the host country, there is a widespread worry that it may lead to the environmental issues and considerable costs and risks. The responsibility of mitigating the disadvantages of international tourism falls on not only governments but also citizens to foster better development.