In this increasingly competitive society, formal academic degrees are considered to be more crucial than hands-on experience by some job recruiters when they seek new candidates. This trend happens due to several causes, and I believe it is a negative tendency.

To begin with, there are some reasons why a host of employers prefer formal qualifications to practical skills. Firstly, since universities usually provide an interactive learning environment for pupils to not only acquire basic knowledge but also cultivate soft skills, getting these degrees can open the door to better job opportunities. For example, doing group projects help students improve interpersonal and teamworking skills. As a result, they can fully develop themselves more rapidly. Secondly, many professional jobs need to be studied for a long period of time in universities. To become a doctor, for instance, students have to accumulate specialized knowledge and carry out a myriad of experiments. If people do not pursue higher education, they might be not qualified to apply for such kinds of jobs.

However, I would argue this is a negative development because of some drawbacks. First, having a university degree no longer plays an important role in seeking career prospects even in this knowledge-based society. This is because vocational training with a much shorter period of time currently gains more popularity among employees because it enhances employment opportunities, coupled with job security upon completion. Additionally, since when almost all people pursue tertiary education and get formal qualifications, they tend to apply for jobs that the are deserved for. This leads to lack of blue-collar workers, which contributes directly to imbalances in the workforce that would damage the economic structure of a country.

In conclusion, this tendency is caused by several reasons, and I believe it brings greater disadvantages.